EU RO MR TA is a process of Type Approval Certification (TAC) of products intended to be installed on board a ship, in compliance to requirements of European Union Recognized Organization Mutual Recognition (EU RO MR).

The EU RO MR TAC is issued in pursuance of Article 10 of the Regulation (EC) No 391/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council from 23 April 2009 on Common Rules and Standards for Ship Inspection and Survey Organisations.                             

Technical Requirements applicable to products under MR are adopted by the EU ROs pursuant to same Article 10. These Technical Requirements are amended from time to time. 

Click here to see latest TR’s

The MR TAC is intended to enable Mutual Recognition (MR) of certain type-approved products, through the uniform application of MR Technical Requirements, to enable those products to be installed on board ships for which MR TACs are issued by one or more of the EU ROs.

Click here to know about list of products eligible for MR Type Approval.

The EU RO MR Group is made up of 12 Classification Societies  with EU Recognized Organisation (EU RO) status​, working together to implement Article 10.1 of Regulation (EC) No. 391/2009. IRS is one of the members of this group.

The member classification societies having EU RO status, consult with each other periodically in order to maintain equivalence and harmonisation of their rules and procedures and confirms agreement on the technical and procedural conditions under which recognition of class certificates for materials, equipment and components to be accepted.

MR Type Approval is available to all manufacturers irrespective of their location and certificate issued by IRS is acceptable at par across all the EU RO members.

Benefits of MR Type Approval Certification

MR TA Certification saves your TIME, MONEY, MULTIPLE CERTIFICATION and enables access to European as well as International Market.

EU RO MR Group Members​(2017) ​ 

  1. Indian Register of Shipping (IRS)  
  2. American Bureau of Shipping (ABS)  
  3. Bureau Veritas (BV)
  4. China Classification Society (CCS)
  5. Croatian Register of Shipping (CRS)
  6. DNV
  7. Korean Register (KR) 
  8. Lloyd's Register Group Ltd. (LR) 
  9. Nippon KaijiKyokai General Incorporated Foundation (ClassNK)
  10. Polish Register of Shipping (PRS)
  11. RINA Services S.p.A. (RINA)

The manufacturer interested in obtaining EU RO MR TA Certification shall apply online. Click here to Apply Online .

We can also be reached through email


1. A separate application for type approval shall be made for each product or group of products and each place of production. 

2. Ensure that your company is certified to Quality Management System (QMS) such as ISO 9001 or equivalent prior to sending application. In case you are interested to avail QMS certificate, we are happy to help you. Please visit us at

The MR Type Approval Certificates issued by IRS can be found here