Technical Circular No: 98/2020

Subject: Designation of SOX Emission Control Area (SECA) in Republic of South Korea

 PDF file Download PDF

  1. South Korean Administration has designated and notified SOX Emission Control Areas (SECA) around following major South Korean ports of;

a. Incheon, Pyeongtaek-Dangjin Area.

b. Yeosu and Gwangyang port (including Hadong port).

c. Busan port area.

d. Busan port west side sea area.

e. Ulsan port area (including Mipo port).

  1. Beginning 01 September, 2020, ships will be required to switch to 0.1% m/m sulfur fuel when berthing / anchoring at ports within the Emission Control Areas or an approved equivalent arrangement is to be used.

3. Timeframe for the sulfur oxide emission control area is as follows;

  • Berthing ships: 1 hour after completion of berthing until 1 hour before un-berthing time.
  • Anchoring ships: 1 hour after completion of anchoring until 1 hour before heaving up time.

4. Further, from 01 January, 2022 onward, all ships will be required to use 0.1% m/m sulfur fuel when navigating or berthing inside the Emission Control Areas (from entry into emission control area until the exit) or an approved equivalent arrangement is to be used.

5. The detailed co-ordinates of the limits of the Emission Control Areas are provided in the attached document.

6. Ship owners/ operators and Masters are advised to be guided by above and take appropriate measures when calling above mentioned Korean ports to ensure compliance to relevant requirements. We recommend clarifying port requirements with the agent or port authorities in due time before arrival.



This Technical Circular and the material contained in it is provided only for the purpose of supplying current information to the reader and not as an advice to be relied upon by any person. While we have taken utmost care to be as factual as possible, readers/ users are advised to verify the exact text and content of the Regulation from the original source/ issuing Authority.

PDF file Download PDF